The Sidney Prize Honors Those Doing Good Work For Humanity

sidney prize

The sidney prize is an innovative way of honoring those doing good work for humanity. The awards are given in a variety of fields such as writing, activism and science. They are designed to encourage people to pursue their goals and make a difference in the world. The sidney prize is an excellent way of recognizing those who are working towards a better future for mankind.

The award is named in memory of professor Sidney Cox who had a profound influence on hundreds of students both inside and outside his classes. It is intended to perpetuate the generative spirit that drove his teaching and scholarship by establishing an annual prize for undergraduate writing that best meets his high standards of integrity and originality. Sophia Jactel of Art History was this year’s winner with her essay on “Domesticity and Diversions: Josef Israels’ Smoker as a Symbol of Peasant Culture in Nineteenth-Century Holland.”

Each year the Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) announces the winners of its major awards and fellowships. The Leonardo da Vinci Medal is the society’s highest honor, recognizing individuals who have significantly contributed to the field of the history of technology through research, teaching, publications, and service to SHOT. The Brooke Hindle Postdoctoral Fellowship is awarded annually to support an individual early in his or her career who is developing a project related to the history of technology. The John Parris Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the mission of the society through service and leadership. The William E. Mellon Senior Fellowship in Humanities is awarded to an exceptional senior who has demonstrated a combination of talent and commitment to the liberal arts.

The Sydney Peace Prize is Australia’s international prize, recognizing leading global voices that promote peace with justice and nonviolence. The 2023 laureates are the Black Lives Matter global network – founded by Patrisse Cullors, Alicia Garza and Opal Tometi following the acquittal of George Zimmerman in the US – and the Uluru Statement from the Heart, a set of indigenous aspirations issued this year.

The Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize is an exciting new opportunity for young writers to write about something that is important to them. The prize is run by Overland magazine in conjunction with the Neilma Sidney Foundation. The winning short story, ‘Camperdown Grief Junk’ by Yeena Kirkbright will be published in Overland alongside runners-up stories. To keep up to date with news about the competition, including winner announcements, Calls for Entries and Sidney’s Picks, sign up to receive the Overland newsletter. You can also follow Overland on Facebook and Twitter. The deadline for entries is 31 March 2023. You can learn more about the prize and the judging criteria on the Overland website. We look forward to seeing your submissions!